SANPA Vice-Chairperson Professor Akhalaque Haque has been named senior Fulbright specialist at World Learning. We congratulate him on achieving this prestigious award.

Please visit the link for details:

SANPA Webinar held

SANPA organized a webinar on “Implementing the UNCEPA Adopted 11 Principles of Effective Governance for Sustainable Development: Why We Need to Talk More Strongly on the Political Insulation of the Bureaucracy” on 26 June 2021.

Professor B. Guy Peters, Maurice Falk Professor of American Government, Pittsburgh University, presented the keynote, while Professor Habib Zafarullah, Chair, SANPA and the University of New England, moderated the webinar.

Professor Akhlaque Haque, The University of Alabama at Birmingham, Professor Lalitha S Fernando, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Sri Lanka, Professor Ahmed Shafiqul Huque, McMaster University, Dr. Mahfuzul Haque, former Secretary to the Government of Bangladesh, Dr. Aly Shameem, former Chairman, Maldives Civil Service Commission, Professor Niaz Ahmed Khan, Independent University, Bangladesh, Professor Prabhat Datta, former Centenary Chair of Public Administration, University of Calcutta, Dr. Fara Azmat, Deakin University, Professor Yaamina Salman, University of Punjab, Mr. Bokyun Shim, Head of Office, United Nations Project Office on Governance, were the designated panelists. SANPA EC Member Mr. Trilochan Pokharel offered a vote of thanks.

The speakers underscored that bureaucracy requires an autonomous working environment backed by adequate political insulation to be more productive and contribute to national development and improve governance quality, particularly in developing countries. However, alongside political insulation and autonomy, there should be a strong accountability framework to hold the bureaucracy to account.

UN CEPA Consultation

SANPA took part in the virtual interactive dialogue with observers held as part of the 20th Committee of Experts on Public Administration (CEPA) session on 19 April from 9 to 11 a.m. EDT (New York time). Please click on the link below to view the SANPA statement.


SANPA Director (Research and Studies) Professor Niaz Ahmed Khan joined the Independent University, Bangladesh as the Pro-Vice-Chancellor. SANPA family congratulates Professor Khan on his career elevation.


EC meeting held

The third meeting of the Executive Committee was held on 1 August 2021. Professor Habib Zafarullah, Chairperson, SANPA, presided over the meeting. The meeting, among others, conferred honorary membership to five internationally acclaimed scholars of public administration and development and accepted 26 academics and practitioners as general members and three young scholars as associate members. The honorary members are Professor B. Guy Peters, President International Public Policy Association and the University of Pittsburgh; Professor Akira Nakamura, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Meiji University; Professor Ken Smith AO, CEO, Australia-New Zealand School of Government (ANZSOG) and the University of Melbourn; Professor Catherine Althaus, ANZSOG and Univerity of New South Wales (UNSW) and Professor Geske Dijkstra, Erasmus University Rotterdam.

The 2nd meeting of the Executive Committee in 2021 was held on 3 April 2021. All members of the EC joined the meeting virtually. Professor Habib Zafarullah presided over the meeting.

The first meeting of the Executive Committee in 2021 was held on 17 January 2021. Professor Habib Zafarullah, Ph.D., Chair of the Executive Committee presided over the meeting. The meeting was held online. The Vice-chairs and other members of the EC joined the meeting.